Anime You Should DEFINITELY Watch

I’ve seen a lot of anime.  I mean, for someone that got in to it pretty late (mid 20s) I’ve seen quite a bit.  Here is a list of what I consider the best of the best in no particular order.  Some of them are no brainers for true otaku.  But, if you’ve seen some and want to know what else is good, here’s my opinion.

You can not go wrong with anything that’s put out by Ghibli.  Especially if it’s a Miyazaki movie.  Here’s a list of my faves from them.

 

Howl’s Moving Castle
Laputa, The Flying Castle
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind
Spirited Away

Other movies not from Ghibli that are great…

Akira (Classic, must watch)
Ninja Scroll
Ghost in the Shell
Ghost in the Shell: Innocence

Now for my favorite kind of Anime, the series.

Cowboy Bebop
Samurai Champloo
FLCL (Fooly Cooly)
Dead Leaves (This is really a movie, but it kinda goes with FLCL)
Magical Shopping Arcade, Abenobashi
Neia_7
Rorouni Kenshin
DearS
Genshiken
Gun Frontier
Trigun
Dual! The Parallel Adventure
Crest of the Stars
Banner of the Stars 1 & 2
Last Exile
Shura No Toki
Wolf’s Rain
Death Note
High School of the Dead
Dennou Coil
Haibane Renmei
Phantom the Animation
Planetes
Read or Die OVA
Read or Die The TV
Elfen Lied
Record of Lodoss War OVA
Record of Lodoss Was The TV
Samurai Deeper Kyo
Samurai Gun
Serial Experiments Lain
When They Cry, Higurashi
Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 1 & 2, plus all OVAs

If I think of more, I’ll add them to the list.   If you have any suggestions, please let me know, I’m always looking for something new and awesome to watch.

Leave a Reply

